Posted in About the Program, Travel

Alternatives to Travel

One of the original pillars of this program was TRAVEL.  However, travel is a bit difficult in this COVID-19 world we live in (especially if you are American).  Since this course is all about alternatives, try one or all of these alternatives to get a bit of the same effect.  (Though it still doesn’t quite feed the soul the way traveling does!)

  • Travel reading (check out this reading challenge!)
  • Join a language group (live or online) or get a pen pal in another country
  • Watch reality TV or series from a different country (Netflix has some great international choices! They also have two newer and awesome travel-related shows: The Final Table and Down to Earth – two great shows that fit right in with the ideals of this program.)
  • Watch the news from another country
  • Sign up for this subscription service to get snacks from around the world (one of my favorite souvenirs when I travel). It will broaden your horizons and your tastebuds! (I’m just waiting for my Netherlands box so I can get all my favorite Dutch treats that I’ve been missing!)

Leave a comment